Aditya Hrdayam Again – Part 1



I had written about Aditya Hrdayam in a similar but not exactly same fashion few years back. Over the years, I had opportunity to go through more Rg vedic slokas and here I present my an improved, hopefully more coherent understanding of Aditya Hrdayam.

I plan to introduce a background detail and actual sloka interpretation in alternate parts.

Aditya Hrdayam, in my view, explains the Universe as a set of thermodynamic principles and evolution of Universe and life as an effect of thermodynamics. Science too says that Universe can be modeled as a thermodynamic system and even life has a thermodynamics basis to it.

Aditya Hrdayam goes beyond that thermodynamics and says that there is a consciousness behind these explicit thermodynamics systems of evolution. It is that consciousness that we need to invoke when we have to fight our battles of life at critical moments. 

Rama becomes worried when Ravana enters the battle-field with renewed vigor. Agastya asks Rama to invoke that consciousness behind all the thermodynamics and fight with Ravana.

Aditya Hrdayam says that Aditya ‘forks’ into four basic categories corresponding to four thermodynamic principles in science. It talks of eight originators of Universe and Life.

Who is Pati..?

Pati does not mean a ‘Lord’ in the ‘English sense’ of one who owns. It means one who makes an impression (giving rise to new things) in his/her subject and facilitates further evolution.

A husband enters his wife, making his impression on her and facilitates further evolution. Hence a husband is called Pati.

A person who owns wealth uses that wealth and gives rise to new things. Hence the person is called Lakhpati, Crorepati etc.

A person who owns house (for eg) uses that and facilitates further progress of society. Hence the person is called ‘Grhapati’.

Hence if a person does not use and facilitates further progress or evolution, the person cannot be called a ‘pati’.

The Prajapatis of Universe – Brahma and Vishnu

The Prajapatis are those who are the Patis of their Praja (subjects). The first two prajapatis are Brahma, and Vishnu.

Brahma and Vishnu are called ‘Praja-patis’, which means that they are the ‘Pati’ of their subjects (Subjects are those that under them or come after them).

Aditya Hrdayam says ‘Esa Brahma cha Vishnu cha (these Brahma and Vishnu) shiva skanda prajapati (are prajpatis of those that hop/emit/diffuse/evolve from shiva)’. For all those that emit/dropped out of Siva, Brahma and Vishnu are the Prajapati’s says Aditya Hrdayam.

Siva – Matter (Siva) and Energy (Sakthi)

In Vedas, Rudras are eleven forces that evolve the universe. These forces vibrate and are the energy (Shakti). They quantize and form the particle form of matter (Shiva). The whole Universal evolution is an interplay of this Shiva (matter) and Shakti (energy). Thus the eleven forces of Rudra, shiva and Shakti are all different facets of the same.

Read more here:
According to science, there are eleven fundamental particles/forces in the Universe. These are the eleven Rudras according to Vedas. They are

1. Force that causes property of structure (Fermions, Siva)
2. Strong Force that Binds physically (Gluons – Bosons)
3. Nuclear Force (Mesons – Bosons)
4. Weak force mediation by W Bosons (with Charge)
5. Weak force mediation by Z Bosons (Without charge)
6. Electro-Magnetic force (Photons – Bosons)
7. Higgs Boson
8. Lorentz force (Force on a charge due to Electro-magnetic field)
9. Electro-static force (that drives the biological bonds)
10. Force of Dark Matter on Matter (According to science dark matter does not impact matter)
11. Expanding force of Universe – Dark Energy

Skanda – The Six forms of Energy

Six forms of energy emit/drop out of Siva (Matter/Particles) and Sakthi (Energy/Wave). These six forms of energy are called Skanda (which means those that diffuse/emit from). The six forms of energy are, according to science, Nuclear energy, Thermal energy, Chemical energy, Mechanical Energy, Electrical Energy and Electro-Magnetic Energy. Hence Skanda is said to be six faced ‘son’ of Shiva and Shakti.

Subrahmanya which means causing good expansion, causing good evolution corresponds to Gravity potential energy. According to science, the gravitational potential energy causes collapsing of Gas-clouds and hence heat. This is the Mahendra.

Karthikeya which means one that is born of the siva’s (matter’s) agni (fire, heat) corresponds to Thermal Energy. This thermal energy is cause of evolution of all atoms, elements and molecules. Hence it is the wealth-giver, called dhanada.

Guha, which means reared in secret place, is the name of Skanda that corresponds to Nuclear energy. This nuclear energy hidden deep inside is the Guha. This is also called Kaala or Time or dark one.

Saravana bhava which means born of arrow forest or forest of reeds corresponds to Radiant energy. Radiant energy is like arrows that come from a bed of arrows. This radiant energy is also Yama, the controller. Hence Yama is shown as son of Surya.

Vizakha which means one that causes to be branchless/forkless or in other words binds. (vi – less, zAkha – branch, fork). It is the mechanical or physically binding energy. This is also called Soma, the energy caused by Strong force that physically binds. It is the binding energy that manifests as nuclear binding energy.

Kumara which means deficient (ku) in death (mara), young, who can live long corresponds to Chemical energy. This is called the Apa or celestial waters. The Chemical energy is the basis of evolution of life and hence is called Kumara.

-To be continued


More posts by this author:

Please follow and like us:

Co Authors :

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.