Sapta Chakras


In my previous article on Gayatri, I had discussed about how Gayatri Mantra explains the Big Bang and the expansion of Universe.

In my article on AUM, I had explained how AUM maps to standard model of Universe as it is known today.
Refer—an-analysis.html .

During the course of that discussion, I had written about the seven lokas, which are nothing but stages of evolution of Universe, upto our planet Earth. I would be mapping the seven lokas to current theory of formation of Universe later in some other blog.

This article is about Sapta Chakras. I interpret the Sapta Chakras as the seven stages of development of a child in its mother's womb.

Traditional Interpretation

The Sapta Chakras are explained in very different ways with respect to a grown up human body in yogic, tantric and psychic systems.

A chakra in Sanskrit means spinning wheel. More it symbolizes motion.

A common system of chakras outline that there are 7 main energy vortices. And it is said that, there are several thousand minor chakras on hands, feets, ears etc. A chakra is said to be a place where nadis cross each other and create an energy spiral.

The system of chakras have been associated with color, sounds, Elements, Orientation to Self, Consciousness, emotions, mind/body/spirits, Prana/Life force, Human characterestics, Spirituality, Herbs, Gemstones, planets and even dieties. Hence Sapta chakras assume a mystic definition, interpreted differently and is in the domain of spiritualists mostly.

Many scholars and pundits try to explain the system of chakras in many different ways ranging from religious to rational. There are umpteen number of yogic, psychic and tantric systems that base themselves on an interpretation of Sapta Chakras.

Seven Stages of Growth (movement) of Child in Mother's womb

Like the Sapta Lokas, which depict the stages of evolution of Universe, Sapta chakras, in my view, depicts the stages of growth of a child in a mother's womb.

Sapta Chakras, which means seven wheels or seven movements actually depict the movement or growth of child in a mother's womb.

The child moves from one stage to another and also moves physically inside the mother's womb. In fact it rotates inside the mother's womb. Hence the movement of child and the growth of the child can be denoted in a larger view as a chakra, symbolizing motion.

There are seven chakras depicted in the ancient texts. They are Mooladhara, Swaadishtana, Manipura, Anahata, Visshuddha, Ajna and Sahasrar.

Mooladhara Chakra: (Upto 3 weeks)

Moola is 'basic' or 'root' in sanskrit. In our case, it is the fertilized egg, which is the moola or the root from which a child grows.

The Mooladhara is the stage of fertilization of egg. It takes upto 4 days for an impregnated egg to reach the Uterus. Mooladhara is this stage of child. It takes upto 3 weeks for the fertilized egg to get completely attached to the walls of the uterus.

Swadishtana Chakra: (3 to 6 weeks)

In sanskrit, Swadishtana means 'on one's own place'. The own place of the fertilized egg is the Uterus. By the 3rd week, the fertilized egg is completely attached to the walls of the uterus.

Swadishtana is the stage of growth of child, when it has reached its own place and grows there by multiplying. First it freely floats freely in the Uterus. Then it gets fixed on the walls of the Uterus.

Manipura Chakra: (6 – 12 weeks)

Manipura in Sanskrit indicates navel or a jewel worn around the navel. The jewel worn around the navel is the Umblical chord.

During the 6th week, the tissue connecting the embryo to the uterus turns into an umbilical cord. During this period the embryo turns into a foetus and grows further.

By the end of 12th week, the baby is well formed, and the umblical chord takes the role of blood circulation.

Anahata Chakra (12 – 24 weeks)

Anahata in Sanskrit means, Unwounded, new, unbleached etc. This indicates the period of stage when umblical chord starts taking the role of blood circulation. At the start of the stage, the baby is well formed on its own, completely.

The Umblical chord gets unwounded by this time signified by its role of blood circulation. During this stage baby grows in every aspect. Hearing, Skin, Taste, Brain, muscles, WBC, fingers, palms, hardening of bones etc occur.

By the end of 24th week, baby can cry and growth becomes slower as baby gets well established.

Vishuddha Chakra (24- 30 weeks)

Vishuddha means thoroughly established in sanskrit. Baby is thoroughly established at the start of this stage. Eyes split to create eye lids. Baby often sits with head upwards. Soon it can take the position of exit by placing the head on the pelvic bowl bones.

At the end of this stage, brain takes over the commands of eyes and lungs. It trains eyes to open and lungs to breathe.

Ajna chakra (30-38 weeks)

Ajna means to command, to control, to mind. At the start of this stage the brain takes over the command of eyes and lungs completely.

Baby moves less because it is running out of space. The legs are folded at the knees and the arms are crossed, with the chin resting on the chest. The brain continues very rapid development.

At the end of this stage, baby's reflexes are all in coordination now. He/She can blink the eyes, turn the head, clench the fists firmly and react directly to sound, light and darkness. The baby is ready to enter the world.

Sahasrar chakra (39+ week)

Sahasrar means a cavity ending with thousand petals. It resembles a Lotus upside down/reverse (women's vagina). This is the stage when baby is ready to enter the world by travelling through this cavity which looks like an inverted lotus with thousand petals.


A keen analysis of the Sapta chakras indicate that they depict the stages of embryonic growth of a child inside a mother's womb in detail.

Whether the chakras were designed to indicate this only and other yogic, psychic, tantric systems that are based on the interpretation of these chakras with respect to a grown up physical human body is right or wrong, is a subject of further understanding, that I do not know.

One thing with certainity can be said that the mapping of the chakras with growth of a child inside a mother's womb is more than co-incidental, looking at each meaning of the chakra. This is in parrallel to Sapta Loka's which are the stages of formation of Universe and is also in parrallel to Sapta Swaras which are the basic of formation of music.


As usual, I would like to highlight that I am neither a certified expert in allopathic or any other system of medicine, nor an expert in Sapta Chakras and spirituality. I have expressed some thoughts, from a particular view-point and the understanding that many of our spiritualistic concepts are actually scientific in nature, which when not cultivated properly transforms into concepts of other domains including spirituality.


More posts by this author:

Please follow and like us:

Co Authors :

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.